Kolkata Municipal Corporation Election Updates: List of 144 Candidates Released

It is being said that due to the intervention of CM Mamata Banerjee, tickets have been given to Firhad and other old loyalists. Elections to the Kolkata Municipal Corporation are to be held on 19 December.

TMC has released the list of its candidates for the Kolkata Municipal Corporation elections this evening. TMC has not given tickets to 39 councilors for the civic polls. For the elections to be held on December 19, the party has given tickets to 144 candidates. Women are also included in this. Let us inform you that to finalize the list of candidates, party president Mamata Banerjee had a meeting with TMC general secretary Abhishek Banerjee and election strategist Prashant Kishor at her residence. Surprisingly, the party has not given tickets to 39 sitting counselors.

Also Read:- Thai Lottery

TMC has given tickets to six MLAs, including former Kolkata Mayor Firhad Hakim. These include Mayor Council member Debashish Kumar, Devvrat Majumdar, and former Deputy Mayor Council member Atin Ghosh. Mamta Banerjee has once again shown confidence in the old candidates in the municipal elections. It is being told that the list was changed at the last minute, due to which the party took time to release the list (TMC List Release).

List of candidates for municipal elections

However, Babul Supriyo, who was a Union Minister, has not been given a place in this list. Earlier there were speculations that TMC may field Babul as a possible mayor. But Firhad has been given a ticket. Due to the absence of Babul Supriyo in the list of candidates, there is speculation about the name of Firhad as the next mayor once again. On the other hand, the TMC general secretary says that a decision on this will be taken later.

Mamta Banerjee’s loyalists got tickets

According to sources, Firhad had told the party that he would leave the ministry if needed. But he should get a ticket in civic elections. It is being said that due to the intervention of CM Mamata Banerjee, Firhad and other old loyalists have been given tickets. Kolkata Municipal Corporation elections are to be held on 19 December.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button