UP Matera Assembly Election 2022: Lotus did not bloom in Bahraich’s Matera assembly election

The lotus could not bloom even in the Modi wave of 2017 in Matera assembly seat. The SP has occupied this seat for the last two elections.

Matera assembly seat of Bahraich district was formed in 2008 after delimitation. So far, two assembly elections have been held in this assembly seat. In 2012 and 2017, only Samajwadi Party candidates have won this assembly seat. While the BJP got a thumping majority in the Modi wave in the 2017 elections, the lotus could not bloom in this assembly seat. In this election, out of 7 seats in Bahraich, BJP won 6 seats while Samajwadi Party won the Matera seat. Know what is the equation of this seat…

caste equation

The number of backward as well as Muslim voters is high in the Matera assembly seat. Due to this, the Samajwadi Party has a stronghold on the seat.

political history 

The Samajwadi Party is having a good hold on the backward and Muslim voters, in this caste equation, the SP got a lot of benefits in the 2012 elections. Due to which Samajwadi Party’s candidate Yasar Shah won the general election in this assembly seat in 2012. He got 41944 votes in the election, while Ali Akbar of Congress got 39145 votes. Samajwadi Party won this seat by a margin of 2801 votes.

At the same time, in the 2017 assembly elections, the stronghold of the Samajwadi Party was visible on this seat. The lotus could not bloom on this seat only during the Modi wave in 2017. Samajwadi Party candidate Yasar Shah won again. This time he got 79188 votes while BJP candidate Arun Veer Singh got 77593 votes. This time Samajwadi Party candidate defeated Arun Veer Singh of BJP by a margin of 1595 votes. SP is winning this seat from the last two assembly elections, due to which it is a big challenge for the BJP to win this seat in the 2022 elections.

Total Voters – 266769
Male Voters – 145932
Female Voters – 120821

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button